Best lists

Best live chat software with EU data hosting

Freshchat, HubSpot Live Chat, Crisp, Tidio, LiveChat, Intercom, Zendesk and Lime Connect compared on where chat data is stored, and on which plans.

By the live-chat.reviews teamPublished 18 September 2026Updated 18 September 2026Prices and limits verified 18 September 2026

EU hosting is not a yes-or-no feature. Some vendors store every customer's data in the EU; some let you pick a region at sign-up; some keep EU hosting for higher plans or contract customers. This list separates the three, from each vendor's own documentation.

tawk.to and Chatwoot Cloud host in the United States and are not listed; Smartsupp's own pages contradict each other on where data is stored. Hosting location is only one part of GDPR: live chat, privacy and the law covers the rest.

Quick picks

  • EU, every plan: Crisp — Crisp documents EU hosting and a DPA on every plan, the Free plan included.
  • EEA at sign-up: Freshchat — Choose the EEA data location at sign-up; SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 held.
  • EEA, every plan: Tidio — All data stays in the EEA on every plan; SOC 2 Type II report held.
  • Hosted in Germany: Lime Connect — Chat data stored on servers in Germany; the AI processing region is not stated.

The ranking

1

Tidio

Small teams with low, predictable chat volume7.2
Paid plans from
US$24.17 per workspace per month, billed annually
Pricing model
Tiers by conversation volume
Free plan
Yes — Free
EU data hosting
Yes

Tidio is a Polish live chat and help desk suite that sells three separately metered quotas: human-handled conversations, Lyro AI Agent conversations and Flows chatbot visitors. Every self-serve plan, including Free, includes 10 seats, so the bill grows with conversation volume rather than headcount, from US$29 a month billed monthly on Starter. Tidio suits small shops and support teams with several people but modest, predictable chat volume.

Tidio stores all data in the EEA on every plan and holds its own SOC 2 Type II report; the DPA is provided on request by email, and Starter costs US$29 a month.

The catch: The Free plan covers only 50 human-handled conversations a month, and at the limit agents can neither see nor answer new messages until the quota resets or the plan is upgraded.

Read the review · Pricing explained · Alternatives

2

Crisp

Teams wanting flat pricing and EU hosting6.9
Paid plans from
US$45 per workspace per month, billed monthly
Pricing model
Per workspace
Free plan
Yes — Free
EU data hosting
Yes

Crisp is a French customer support suite (shared inbox, chat widget, CRM, knowledge base) that charges a flat monthly price per workspace with a fixed number of seats and no conversation cap. Paid plans run from Mini at US$45 a month for 4 seats to Plus at US$295 for 20, and the Hugo AI agent is metered through included USD credits. Crisp suits small and growing teams that want a predictable bill, many channels and data held in the EU.

Crisp, based in France, hosts data in the EU and offers a DPA on every plan including Free, and publishes its sub-processor list; paid plans start at US$45 a month for Mini.

The catch: The Crisp watermark stays on every plan below Plus at US$295 a month, and the Free plan has no full conversation history and caps you at 100 customer profiles.

Read the review · Pricing explained

3

Freshchat

Teams wanting many agents on a free plan6.8
Paid plans from
US$19 per seat per month, billed annually
Pricing model
Seats plus AI usage
Free plan
Yes — Free
EU data hosting
Yes

Freshchat is Freshworks' live chat and messaging product, with a Free plan for up to 10 agents and paid plans billed per agent from US$19 a month on annual billing. Its Freddy AI Agent is sold in packs of 100 sessions for US$49, available from the entry paid plan. It suits small and mid-sized teams that want several people on chat for free and may later move up to Freshworks' helpdesk.

Freshchat lets you choose the EEA data location at sign-up with no plan restriction found, though the choice is not confirmed for Free accounts; Growth costs US$23 per agent a month on monthly billing.

The catch: Freddy AI Agent is billed per 24-hour session whether or not the question gets resolved, and rule-based bot flows and builder previews draw from the same session pool.

Read the review · Pricing explained

4

HubSpot Live Chat

Two-person teams already on HubSpot CRM6.5
Paid plans from
US$20 per seat per month, billed monthly
Pricing model
Seats plus AI usage
Free plan
Yes — Free tools
EU data hosting
Yes

HubSpot Live Chat is the chat widget and shared inbox that come with HubSpot's free CRM, for up to 2 users at no charge. Removing the HubSpot branding, routing chats and adding the AI customer agent all require paid Service Hub seats, billed per seat, with the agent's resolutions billed in HubSpot Credits on top. It suits small teams that already use, or plan to use, HubSpot as their CRM.

HubSpot Live Chat assigns a data centre from your IP address at sign-up, and any Starter, Professional or Enterprise account can move to the EU (Germany) region; a free account outside the EU must upgrade to Starter, listed at US$20 per seat.

The catch: The widget keeps HubSpot's branding until you buy a paid seat, and HubSpot's own pages list three different Starter prices: US$7, US$10 and US$20 a seat a month.

Read the review · Pricing explained

5

LiveChat

Established teams with budget per agent5.2
Paid plans from
US$19 per seat per month, billed annually
Pricing model
Per seat
Free plan
No free plan · 14-day trial
EU data hosting
Yes

LiveChat is a paid live chat and messaging platform from Text, a Polish company, billed per agent account from US$19 a month on annual billing or US$25 billed monthly. There is no free plan, only a 14-day trial, and the autonomous AI Agent is sold in Text and ChatBot.com plans rather than in classic LiveChat plans. LiveChat suits established sales and support teams that want wide channel coverage and can afford a price that rises with every seat.

LiveChat lets you choose EU or US hosting at sign-up on every plan and offers a DPA, though no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report of its vendor's own was found; Team costs US$59 per seat a month on monthly billing.

The catch: LiveChat has no free plan and Starter holds a single user, so any team of two or more pays the Team rate of US$59 per person a month billed monthly, or US$49 billed annually.

Read the review · Pricing explained · Alternatives

6

Lime Connect

Teams that need chat data stored in Germany5.1
Paid plans from
€87 per month, billed annually
Pricing model
Seats plus AI usage
Free plan
Yes — Free
EU data hosting
Yes

Lime Connect is the product formerly sold as Userlike, a Cologne-based chat and messaging platform owned by Lime Technologies since 2021 and renamed on September 10, 2025. It covers website chat, email, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, Telegram and SMS, and the vendor says all chat data is stored on servers in Germany. The only self-serve paid plan, Pro, starts at €105 a month with a 3-seat minimum, and the Connect AI Agent is a separate add-on.

Lime Connect states that all chat data is stored on servers in Germany, though its AI models run on Microsoft Azure and AWS Bedrock in a region the vendor does not state.

The catch: The pricing page does not say whether Pro's €105 a month is per seat or covers the whole 3-seat minimum.

Read the review · Pricing explained

7

Intercom

Support teams building around an AI agent4.9
Paid plans from
US$29 per seat per month, billed annually
Pricing model
Seats plus AI usage
Free plan
No free plan · 14-day trial
EU data hosting
On some paid plans

Intercom is a customer service helpdesk whose live chat widget, the Messenger, comes with every plan, sold per full seat from US$29 a month on annual billing and US$39 on monthly billing. Its Fin AI Agent is available on all plans and billed separately at US$0.99 per outcome. The company behind it renamed itself Fin in May 2026 and has been owned by Salesforce since September 10, 2026; Intercom suits teams that want a full helpdesk with an AI agent built in and can pay per seat for it.

Intercom offers EU hosting only for new Advanced and Expert workspaces on a contract account, so a self-serve Essential workspace at US$39 per seat does not get it.

The catch: Intercom has no free plan and no included Fin allowance on standard plans, so the bill is seats at up to US$39 each plus US$0.99 for every Fin outcome, including customers who simply leave after Fin's answer.

Read the review · Pricing explained · Alternatives

8

Zendesk

Multichannel support teams wanting one helpdesk4.9
Paid plans from
US$55 per seat per month, billed annually
Pricing model
Seats plus AI usage
Free plan
No free plan · 14-day trial
EU data hosting
On some paid plans

Zendesk sells live chat and messaging only as part of the Zendesk Suite, a per-agent helpdesk that starts with Suite Team at US$55 an agent a month billed annually or US$69 billed monthly; standalone Zendesk Chat is no longer sold to new customers. Zendesk AI agents are billed per automated resolution, with a small free allowance per agent each month. It suits teams that want chat, email, voice and social channels in one ticketing system and have the budget for per-agent Suite seats.

Zendesk offers an EU or UK data region at no charge only on Suite Professional and above, switched on through support, so Suite Team at US$69 per agent a month does not include it.

The catch: Live chat starts at Suite Team, US$69 an agent a month billed monthly, and the Zendesk branding can only be removed on Suite Enterprise, which is quote-only.

Read the review · Pricing explained · Alternatives

Comparison table

ProductScorePricing modelPaid plans fromFree planAI chatbotEU data hostingBest for
Tidio7.2Tiers by conversation volumeUS$24.17 per workspace per month, billed annuallyYes — FreeLyro AI Agent — billed per conversationYesSmall teams with low, predictable chat volume
Crisp6.9Per workspaceUS$45 per workspace per month, billed monthlyYes — FreeHugo — billed per creditYesTeams wanting flat pricing and EU hosting
Freshchat6.8Seats plus AI usageUS$19 per seat per month, billed annuallyYes — FreeFreddy AI Agent — billed per sessionYesTeams wanting many agents on a free plan
HubSpot Live Chat6.5Seats plus AI usageUS$20 per seat per month, billed monthlyYes — Free toolsCustomer agent — billed per resolutionYesTwo-person teams already on HubSpot CRM
LiveChat5.2Per seatUS$19 per seat per month, billed annuallyNo free plan · 14-day trialAI Agent (sold in Text and ChatBot.com plans) — billed per resolutionYesEstablished teams with budget per agent
Lime Connect5.1Seats plus AI usage€87 per month, billed annuallyYes — FreeConnect AI Agent — billed per conversationYesTeams that need chat data stored in Germany
Intercom4.9Seats plus AI usageUS$29 per seat per month, billed annuallyNo free plan · 14-day trialFin AI Agent — billed per resolutionOn some paid plansSupport teams building around an AI agent
Zendesk4.9Seats plus AI usageUS$55 per seat per month, billed annuallyNo free plan · 14-day trialZendesk AI agents — billed per resolutionOn some paid plansMultichannel support teams wanting one helpdesk

Free-plan audit

ProductFree seatsConversationsChat historyRemove brandingAI on the free planBeyond website chat
Tidio1050 / monthNot documentedNo50, one-offYes
Crisp2UnlimitedNot documentedNoNoChat only
Freshchat10Not documentedNot documentedNoNoYes
HubSpot Live Chat2UnlimitedNot documentedNoNoYes
Lime Connect1200Not documentedNot documentedNoChat only
LiveChatNo free plan · 14-day trial
IntercomNo free plan · 14-day trial
ZendeskNo free plan · 14-day trial
Read from each vendor's pricing and help pages on the verification date shown on this page. We have not installed these plans. "Not documented" means the vendor does not say.

Free-plan audit: does your team fit a free live chat plan?

What it costs at 2, 5 and 10 seats

Product2 seats · 100 conversations a month5 seats · 500 conversations a month10 seats · 2,000 conversations a month
TidioUS$29 a month (Starter)US$129 a month (Growth)US$349 a month (Growth)
CrispFree (Free)US$95 a month (Essentials)US$95 a month (Essentials)
FreshchatFree (Free) if the undocumented conversations limit allows; otherwise US$46 a month (Growth)Free (Free) if the undocumented conversations limit allows; otherwise US$115 a month (Growth)Free (Free) if the undocumented conversations limit allows; otherwise US$230 a month (Growth)
HubSpot Live ChatFree (Free tools)US$100 a month (Service Hub Starter)US$200 a month (Service Hub Starter)
LiveChatUS$118 a month (Team)US$295 a month (Team)US$590 a month (Team)
Lime Connect€105 a month (Pro)No published plan fitsNo published plan fits
IntercomUS$78 a month (Essential)US$195 a month (Essential)US$390 a month (Essential)
ZendeskUS$138 a month (Suite Team)US$345 a month (Suite Team)US$690 a month (Suite Team)
List prices in the vendor's own currency, billed monthly where the vendor offers it, otherwise the annual-billing rate. AI usage, taxes and discounts are not included.

How to choose

If you need EU hosting without talking to sales, choose a product that documents it on every plan: Crisp, Tidio and Lime Connect store data in the EU for every customer, and LiveChat and Freshchat let you pick an EU region at sign-up.

If you are on a free plan, Crisp and Tidio are the clearest cases, because both document EU storage on every plan. HubSpot Live Chat assigns a region from your IP address, and Freshchat's region choice is not confirmed for Free, so check the account's data location before storing customer chats.

If you already use Intercom or Zendesk, budget for the higher plan: Intercom offers EU hosting on Advanced and Expert workspaces under a contract, and Zendesk on Suite Professional and above, where Suite Professional costs US$149 per agent a month on monthly billing. Intercom vs Zendesk compares the two.

If your AI chatbot must also process data in the EU, ask separately: EU storage of chat transcripts does not tell you where the AI model runs. Lime Connect, for example, names Microsoft Azure and AWS Bedrock for its AI without stating a region.

If you need an independent audit as well as EU hosting, Freshchat, Tidio and HubSpot Live Chat document SOC 2 Type II reports of their own, and Freshchat also holds ISO 27001. Crisp states that it has had no SOC 2 audit.

Verdict

Crisp is the default EU-hosted pick: the vendor is based in France, hosts data in the EU and offers a DPA on every plan including Free, and Essentials covers 10 seats for US$95 a month. Ignore it if your procurement requires a SOC 2 or ISO 27001 report, because Crisp states it has neither; Freshchat holds both and lets you choose the EEA at sign-up.

For buyers in the United Kingdom

Under PECR regulation 6, as replaced on 5 February 2026, a chat widget must not store or read anything on a visitor's device without consent unless a listed exception applies, and none of the exceptions names live chat. The practical reading is to load the widget's non-essential cookies and local storage only after consent, or when the visitor clicks to open the chat. If the vendor is in the US, the UK-US data bridge covers the transfer only when the vendor's Data Privacy Framework certification includes the UK Extension; otherwise you need the IDTA or the UK Addendum. This is general information, not legal advice.

UK GDPR then governs the conversation itself. Tell visitors who receives the transcript and how long you keep it at the pre-chat form, not only in the footer, sign a written processor contract with the chat vendor, and set a retention period for transcripts. The order that commenced the new PECR rules also commenced new ICO enforcement powers on 5 February 2026; a law firm reports the maximum PECR fine is now £17.5 million or 4% of global annual turnover, a figure the ICO's own enforcement page had not yet confirmed on 18 September 2026.

A vendor's "EU data residency" is not UK residency. Of the products in our catalogue, only Zendesk documents a UK hosting region, available on Suite Professional and above; the rest document EU, EEA, German or US hosting, which we compare in EU-hosted live chat. The UK has no statute that makes you label a chatbot, but transparency duties still apply, and the EU AI Act's disclosure rule reaches bots that serve visitors in the EU.

Live chat, privacy and the law in the United Kingdom

Frequently asked questions

Which live chat tools host data in the EU on every plan?

Crisp, Tidio and Lime Connect document EU or EEA storage for every customer. LiveChat and Freshchat let you choose an EU region at sign-up, and HubSpot Live Chat lets any paid account, from Starter up, move to its EU region.

Is tawk.to EU-hosted?

No. tawk.to offers a DPA with standard contractual clauses, but its help centre says data is stored in the United States, and no EU region is offered. See tawk.to alternatives.

Does Intercom offer EU data hosting?

Yes, but only for new Advanced and Expert workspaces on a contract account, according to Intercom's regional hosting documentation. Self-serve Essential workspaces do not get it. See Intercom alternatives.

Is Smartsupp EU-hosted?

Smartsupp's pages contradict each other. The pricing page says all data is stored on servers in the European Union; the GDPR help article says some data is also stored in the US and other countries. Until Smartsupp resolves that, it is not on this list.

Does EU hosting make live chat GDPR compliant?

No. Hosting location is one factor; you also need a data processing agreement, a lawful basis and a privacy notice that covers the chat. See live chat, privacy and the law.

Keep reading

Sources

  1. Tidio pricing — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  2. Lyro AI Agent — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  3. About Tidio — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  4. The free version and downgrading your account — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  5. The monthly conversations limit — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  6. The Lyro AI agent limit — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  7. The monthly flow limit — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  8. Automatic upgrades — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  9. Chat history — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  10. Change and add languages in your chat widget — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  11. Lyro multilanguage support — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  12. Privacy Policy and GDPR compliance — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  13. How are security matters handled at Tidio — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  14. Tidio trust centre — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  15. Tidio integrations — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  16. Tidio mobile SDK — Tidio · 18 September 2026
  17. Crisp pricing — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  18. Getting started with the Free plan — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  19. Hugo pricing and billing explained — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  20. How to increase my limits and quotas — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  21. Crisp EU GDPR compliance status — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  22. Crisp compliance status with SOC 2 — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  23. Crisp compliance with ISO 27001 — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  24. Crisp sub-processors — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  25. What languages are supported by Crisp — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  26. Chatbox SDKs — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  27. About Crisp — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  28. Crisp live chat — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  29. Crisp AI Core Update (Hugo launch, AI replies become paid) — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  30. Summer 2026 Crisp product update — Crisp · 18 September 2026
  31. Shopify integration — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  32. WordPress plugin — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  33. Freshchat pricing — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  34. Freddy AI Agent and chatbot sessions FAQs — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  35. Understanding Freddy AI features and pricing — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  36. How can I remove the Freshworks branding from the widget? — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  37. Provide multilingual support to your customers — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  38. Where are your data servers located? — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  39. Freshworks sub-processors — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  40. Freshworks Trust Center — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  41. What is Freshchat? — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  42. Freshchat live chat software — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  43. Freshchat developer documentation — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  44. Freshworks announces winners of the 2026 Global Customer Awards — Freshworks · 18 September 2026
  45. Shopify integration — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  46. WordPress plugin — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  47. Service Hub pricing — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  48. Service Hub Preise (hubspot.de) — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  49. HubSpot Product & Services Catalog — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  50. Service Hub pricing (HubSpot blog) — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  51. Service Hub product page — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  52. HubSpot live chat — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  53. AI customer service agent — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  54. Understand the customer agent — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  55. HubSpot cloud infrastructure and data hosting FAQ — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  56. HubSpot security — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  57. Create and customize a mobile chatflow — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  58. Our story — HubSpot · 18 September 2026
  59. WooCommerce integration — Text · 18 September 2026
  60. LiveChat pricing — Text · 18 September 2026
  61. Text pricing (plans with the AI Agent) — Text · 18 September 2026
  62. ChatBot.com pricing — Text · 18 September 2026
  63. Pay-per-agent pricing model — Text · 18 September 2026
  64. LiveChat subscription policy — Text · 18 September 2026
  65. Data storage policy — Text · 18 September 2026
  66. Data Processing Addendum — Text · 18 September 2026
  67. List of sub-processors — Text · 18 September 2026
  68. How to change the chat widget language — Text · 18 September 2026
  69. LiveChat Marketplace — Text · 18 September 2026
  70. LiveChat features — Text · 18 September 2026
  71. Lime Connect pricing — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  72. Lime Connect home page — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  73. Data privacy — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  74. AI automation — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  75. Lime Connect integrations — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  76. Multilingual chat support — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  77. Userlike is now Lime Connect — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  78. Userlike becomes Lime Connect — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  79. Userlike joins Lime Technologies — Lime Technologies · 18 September 2026
  80. Shopify integration — Fin (Intercom) · 18 September 2026
  81. WordPress plugin — Fin (Intercom) · 18 September 2026
  82. Intercom pricing — Fin · 18 September 2026
  83. Fin pricing — Fin · 18 September 2026
  84. Fin AI Agent outcomes — Fin · 18 September 2026
  85. Your workspace settings — Fin · 18 September 2026
  86. Early Stage program — Fin · 18 September 2026
  87. Usage-based channels — Fin · 18 September 2026
  88. Regional data hosting — Fin · 18 September 2026
  89. How data is hosted and processed in Intercom — Fin · 18 September 2026
  90. Intercom security — Fin · 18 September 2026
  91. Localize the Messenger to work with multiple languages — Fin · 18 September 2026
  92. Use Intercom in your preferred language — Fin · 18 September 2026
  93. Omnichannel helpdesk — Fin · 18 September 2026
  94. Intercom live chat — Fin · 18 September 2026
  95. Installing Intercom — Fin · 18 September 2026
  96. About Fin — Fin · 18 September 2026
  97. Today, Intercom becomes Fin — Fin · 18 September 2026
  98. Salesforce signs definitive agreement to acquire Fin — Salesforce · 18 September 2026
  99. Salesforce completes acquisition of Fin — Salesforce · 18 September 2026
  100. Lightspeed customer story — Fin · 18 September 2026
  101. Intercom on the Vendr marketplace — Vendr · 18 September 2026
  102. Shopify integration — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  103. WordPress plugin — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  104. Zendesk pricing — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  105. Zendesk free trial — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  106. About automated resolutions for AI agents — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  107. About automated resolution tiers — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  108. Announcing expanded access to AI agent capabilities for all Zendesk customers — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  109. About the Data Center Location add-on — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  110. Regional Data Hosting Policy — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  111. Messaging vs live chat: which is right for you? — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  112. About Zendesk Chat plan types (legacy) — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  113. Zendesk Trust Center — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  114. Zendesk live chat — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  115. Zendesk AI agents — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  116. Zendesk Copilot — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  117. Zendesk for Startups — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  118. Hello Sugar customer story — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  119. Zendesk completes acquisition of Forethought — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  120. Consortium led by Hellman & Friedman and Permira completes acquisition of Zendesk — Permira · 18 September 2026
  121. Zendesk press — Zendesk · 18 September 2026
  122. Zendesk on the Vendr marketplace — Vendr · 18 September 2026

This page was researched and drafted with AI assistance from the sources listed on it. We have not installed or tested these products ourselves. Method: How we review