review

Intercom review

What Intercom's free plan documents, what the paid plans cost as you add people, how its AI is billed and where your data is hosted. Scored on a published rubric, with every figure sourced.

By the live-chat.reviews teamPublished 18 September 2026Updated 18 September 2026Prices and limits verified 18 September 2026

Intercom is a customer service helpdesk whose live chat widget, the Messenger, comes with every plan, sold per full seat from US$29 a month on annual billing and US$39 on monthly billing. Its Fin AI Agent is available on all plans and billed separately at US$0.99 per outcome. The company behind it renamed itself Fin in May 2026 and has been owned by Salesforce since September 10, 2026; Intercom suits teams that want a full helpdesk with an AI agent built in and can pay per seat for it.

Bottom line

  • Best for: Support teams building around an AI agent
  • Not for: Intercom is a poor fit for a small team on a tight budget, because there is no free plan, every full seat is billed and every Fin outcome is charged on top.
  • Paid plans from: US$29 per seat per month, billed annually
  • The catch: Intercom has no free plan and no included Fin allowance on standard plans, so the bill is seats at up to US$39 each plus US$0.99 for every Fin outcome, including customers who simply leave after Fin's answer.

Score breakdown

5.4

Intercom scores 5.4 out of 10 on rubric v1.0. The rubric rates what can be verified from public information, not how the widget performs on a live site.

Free-plan usabilityWeight 25% · Level 1/5

No free plan. At most a time-limited trial.

Cost as you add agentsWeight 25% · Level 3/5

More than 125 and up to 250 a month.

AI billing clarityWeight 20% · Level 4/5

Price and unit are public and defined in writing, including the edge cases, but no allowance is included in any plan, or the AI is only sold in a separate product or a higher tier.

Channels and integrationsWeight 15% · Level 3/5

Website chat, email and at least one of Messenger, Instagram or WhatsApp, with WordPress and one major ecommerce platform.

Data location and complianceWeight 15% · Level 3/5

EU hosting exists but only on higher plans or by contract; or EU hosting on every plan without an independent security audit (SOC 2 or ISO 27001) of the vendor itself.

Key facts

Vendor
Fin (formerly Intercom), a Salesforce company
Headquarters
San Francisco, USA · founded 2011
Pricing model
Seats plus AI usage
Paid plans from
US$29 per seat per month, billed annually
Prices published in
USD
Free plan
No free plan · 14-day trial
AI chatbot
Fin AI Agent — billed per resolution
Channels
Website chat, Email, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, SMS, Voice
Languages
Widget in 45+ languages · German: Yes · Spanish: Yes
EU data hosting
On some paid plans
Compliance
SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO 27018, ISO 42001, AIUC-1 (Fin), HIPAA (Expert), GDPR, CCPA
Integrations
WordPress, Shopify, Stripe, Klaviyo, Salesforce, HubSpot

Strengths

  • The Messenger, a shared inbox, ticketing, a public help centre and Fin AI Agent are included on every plan, and inbound conversations are not metered.
  • The Fin outcome is defined in writing, including when you are not charged and the refund if a conversation is reopened.
  • Intercom publishes a 90-day money-back guarantee on Fin, plus spending limits and alerts.
  • The Messenger is translated into 45 languages, German and Spanish included, and Fin is listed as supporting 45 languages.
  • Intercom lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO 27018 and ISO 42001, with HIPAA support on Expert.

Weaknesses

  • There is no free plan; the cheapest route is the 14-day trial, then Essential.
  • Intercom branding can only be removed on Advanced and Expert, not on Essential.
  • Fin charges for assumed resolutions, where the customer leaves without asking for more help, and for procedure handoffs you configured to end with a human.
  • EU or Australian hosting is only for new workspaces on Advanced or Expert with a contract account, and an existing workspace cannot be migrated.
  • WhatsApp, SMS, bulk email and phone are usage-charged on top of seats; SMS in the US and Canada costs US$0.01–US$0.06 per segment, by volume tier.

What the free plan allows

Intercom has no free plan. The 14-day trial needs no credit card and, according to the pricing page, includes all features, Fin and add-ons, with Fin outcomes unlimited during the trial. After the trial, the cheapest route is Essential at US$29 a seat a month on annual billing, which keeps the Intercom branding on the Messenger. Startups that have raised no more than US$10,000,000, are not already customers and meet a headcount limit can apply to Early Stage: 93% off in year one, with 300 Fin outcomes a month, falling to 50% and 25% off in the next two years. Intercom states the headcount limit two ways: the pricing page says 15 employees or fewer, the help article says fewer than 15. Leaving the programme forfeits the remaining discounts.

Free-plan audit: does your team fit a free live chat plan? · Is a free live chat plan enough for your team?

Published prices

PlanPriceSource
EssentialUS$29 per seat per month, billed annuallySource
EssentialUS$39 per seat per month, billed monthlySource
AdvancedUS$85 per seat per month, billed annuallySource
AdvancedUS$99 per seat per month, billed monthlySource
ExpertUS$132 per seat per month, billed annuallySource
ExpertUS$139 per seat per month, billed monthlySource
Fin AI Agent, per outcomeUS$0.99 per resolutionSource
Fin AI Agent, per sales qualificationUS$9.99Source
Fin Voice, per voice outcome (via sales)US$1.99Source
Copilot add-onUS$29 per seat per month, billed annuallySource
Copilot add-onUS$35 per seat per month, billed monthlySource
Proactive Support Plus add-onUS$99 per workspace per monthSource
Pro add-onUS$99 per workspace per monthSource
Early Stage (eligible startups, year 1)US$33 per workspace per monthSource
Verified against the vendor's pages: 2026-09-18 · Prices published in: USD

Intercom charges per full seat, with a minimum of 1: Essential costs US$39 a seat a month billed monthly or US$29 billed annually, Advanced US$99 or US$85, and Expert US$132 billed annually. The monthly figures come from data embedded in the pricing page, whose visible toggle defaults to annual, and the page's FAQ names only Essential and Advanced as self-serve plans, so Expert's US$139 monthly figure may not be available without a contract. A team of 2 on Essential pays twice the seat price, a team of 5 five times and a team of 10 ten times, before any Fin outcomes, usage-charged channels or add-ons such as Copilot (US$35 an agent a month billed monthly). Advanced adds 20 free Lite seats for internal collaborators, but Lite seats cannot send messages. Eligible startups can apply to the Early Stage programme, which starts at US$33 a month in year one; Fin and Salesforce had announced no change to Intercom pricing as of this review. See the Intercom vs Zendesk comparison for how its seat prices compare.

Intercom pricing explained

How the AI is billed

Intercom bills Fin AI Agent per outcome, at most one per conversation: US$0.99 for a resolution, a procedure handoff or a disqualification, and US$9.99 for a sales qualification. Intercom's help article counts a resolution when the customer either confirms the answer was satisfactory or exits without requesting further help after Fin's last answer, so silence is billed as an assumed resolution; the article we read does not state how long the silence must last. A procedure handoff is billed even though a human takes over, if you built the Procedure to end with a handoff. You pay nothing when Fin cannot answer, fails an action or the customer asks for a human, and a resolution is refunded if the conversation is reopened. There is no included allowance on standard plans. Fin Voice costs US$1.99 per voice outcome through sales on intercom.com, while fin.ai/pricing still describes voice as custom pricing. Fin on another helpdesk, without Intercom seats, has a minimum of 50 outcomes a month. Intercom claims a 76% average resolution rate in the Messenger; that is the vendor's figure. The guide to how vendors bill for AI compares outcomes with sessions and credits. Source

Data hosting and languages

Intercom hosts on AWS in the United States (N. Virginia), the EU (Dublin) and Australia (Sydney). The US is the default; EU or Australian hosting is only for new workspaces on Advanced or Expert with a contract account, is not available through Early Stage, and an existing workspace cannot be moved, so historical conversations stay where they are. Intercom lists no UK region and does not state an extra fee for regional hosting, nor where Fin's language-model processing runs for EU workspaces. Intercom's security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO 27018, ISO 42001, AIUC-1 for Fin, GDPR and CCPA, with HIPAA support on Expert. The Messenger is available in 45 languages, a count that includes German and German (Formal) separately, plus Spanish; the agent interface is in 7 languages, including German and Spanish. The EU-hosted live chat list shows tools with a self-serve EU region.

For buyers in the United Kingdom Under PECR regulation 6, as replaced on 5 February 2026, a chat widget must not store or read anything on a visitor's device without consent unless a listed exception applies, and none of the exceptions names live chat. The practical reading is to load the widget's non-essential cookies and local storage only after consent, or when the visitor clicks to open the chat. If the vendor is in the US, the UK-US data bridge covers the transfer only when the vendor's Data Privacy Framework certification includes the UK Extension; otherwise you need the IDTA or the UK Addendum. This is general information, not legal advice. Live chat, privacy and the law in the United Kingdom

Verdict

Intercom is a strong candidate for a support team that wants a helpdesk built around an AI agent and has the budget for per-seat pricing, because Fin is available on every plan and its outcome billing is documented in detail. It is expensive for small teams: there is no free plan, Essential keeps the branding, and every Fin outcome, including assumed resolutions, is charged on top. The ownership change to Salesforce on September 10, 2026 has not come with any announced pricing change, but it is worth watching before signing an annual term. Teams that want a cheaper chat widget should read Intercom alternatives or compare Crisp vs Intercom.

Frequently asked questions

Does Intercom have a free plan?

No. Intercom offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card, then paid seats from US$29 a month billed annually. Eligible startups can apply to the Early Stage programme, which starts at US$33 a month in year one.

How much does Intercom's Fin AI Agent cost?

Fin costs US$0.99 per outcome, charged at most once per conversation, and US$9.99 per sales qualification. An outcome includes a customer leaving without asking for more help after Fin's answer. There is no included allowance on standard plans, and the seats are billed separately.

Is Intercom now owned by Salesforce?

Yes. The company renamed itself from Intercom to Fin on May 12, 2026, keeping Intercom as the name of its helpdesk and Messenger, and Salesforce completed its acquisition of Fin on September 10, 2026. Neither company had announced a change to Intercom's pricing when this review was written.

Can I remove the Intercom branding from the Messenger?

Only on Advanced and Expert. Intercom's workspace settings article says branding can be removed from the Messenger, outbound emails and Help Center on those plans, so Essential users keep it.

Does Intercom host data in the EU?

Yes, in Dublin, but only for new workspaces on Advanced or Expert with a contract account. Essential and Early Stage workspaces are hosted in the US, and an existing workspace cannot be migrated to another region.

Sources

  1. Shopify integration Fin (Intercom) · 18 September 2026
  2. WordPress plugin Fin (Intercom) · 18 September 2026
  3. Intercom pricing Fin · 18 September 2026
  4. Fin pricing Fin · 18 September 2026
  5. Fin AI Agent outcomes Fin · 18 September 2026
  6. Your workspace settings Fin · 18 September 2026
  7. Early Stage program Fin · 18 September 2026
  8. Usage-based channels Fin · 18 September 2026
  9. Regional data hosting Fin · 18 September 2026
  10. How data is hosted and processed in Intercom Fin · 18 September 2026
  11. Intercom security Fin · 18 September 2026
  12. Localize the Messenger to work with multiple languages Fin · 18 September 2026
  13. Use Intercom in your preferred language Fin · 18 September 2026
  14. Omnichannel helpdesk Fin · 18 September 2026
  15. Intercom live chat Fin · 18 September 2026
  16. Installing Intercom Fin · 18 September 2026
  17. About Fin Fin · 18 September 2026
  18. Today, Intercom becomes Fin Fin · 18 September 2026
  19. Salesforce signs definitive agreement to acquire Fin Salesforce · 18 September 2026
  20. Salesforce completes acquisition of Fin Salesforce · 18 September 2026
  21. Lightspeed customer story Fin · 18 September 2026
  22. Intercom on the Vendr marketplace Vendr · 18 September 2026

This page was researched and drafted with AI assistance from the sources listed on it. We have not installed or tested these products ourselves. Method: How we review